New York Comic Con – the Hypening PLUS the Manhattan ComiconiKaze Bomb

So, I didn’t go to NYCC because I’m a poor graduate student but here’s what I’m hype about.

Scroll to the bottom for  NYCC themed cocktail!

Now, without further adieu:

Image

New Witcher Comic series Announced by Dark Horse.

Oh boy oh man. I’m so excited for this. Being a big fan of the series, I’ve played the games, I’ve read the (translated) books and being in a great big low fantasy kick for the last year or so, I really cannot get enough Witcher/Wiedzmin right now. This news really complimented my daily daydream sessions about how intensely amazing the Witcher 3 it going to be. Now, I’ll admit I’m not all that familiar with Paul Tobin’s writing but I absolutely adore Joe Querio’s art (even have a signed copy of some Lobster Johnson issues) so I’m  quite positive currently about the creative team, though I’ll definitely have to go check up on some of Tobin’s previous work. There have been two previous Wiedzmin comic series that really only came out in Poland and to my knowledge (feel free to yell at me in the comments if I’m wrong) there’s really no English translation. As much as I love the Witcher, I just don’t  know how much enjoyment I can get out of reading some sequential art when I can’t understand the writing, so this Dark Horse series is big news for me. Additionally, the next book in the Witcher Saga (Chrzest Ognia) has been tentatively announced for release sometime in 2014. With the comic series, a new book translation on the way and the Witcher 3 coming out soon, 2014 is certainly going to be the year of Witch-er. Maybe I should quell my excitement by watching some of the Hexer TV series. Oh that show, oh how you slay me with your horrific-ness.

Image

New Warriors Series Announced from Marvel

Now, I’m not a huge fan of Kid Nova. To be completely honestly I really can’t stand him in anything he’s been in so far. I’ve tried to ignore the Loeb drama surrounding this character, and I know it makes me sound like a crotchety old “not my Nova” fart but I really just don’t want Sam to ride my dick if you know what I mean (GET IT? Richard Rider = Dick Rider. What an innovative jape I’ve made. Tune in next week for some groundbreaking Richard Grayson jokes). Counteracting my distaste for Sam is a lovely cast that does suit my fancy. It’s great to see old members like Speedball and Justice making their way back into this series and into the Marvel universe since they’ve been somewhat absent since the unconscionable cancellation of Avengers Academy. More than that, we’ve got Kaine Scarlet Spider coming back in a team book as what I can only imagine will be the role of the ole stick in the mud. This is particularly nice since Scarlet Spider was cancelled last month. Along with Kaine comes Aracely from the most recent Scarlet Spider run as well. The three new characters are Sun Girl, Haechi, and Water Snake. I have to say what really excites me most though is Christopher Yost on writing. The man knows how to write something fun and that’s exactly what I want from my Marvel comics. Speaking of Avengers Academy, since it’s cancellation (I like to pretend like Avengers Arena really doesn’t exist) there hasn’t been a fun teen team book in Marvel’s roster.  Marcus To has a fun style and the Red Robin creative style coming to this Marvel book really revs my engine. Percentage off the higgle fo bliggle: 80%

Image

X-Factor is Back Baby and Peter David is Still at the Helm

Peter David has made an amazing recovery from his stroke late last year (I know all my well wishes went out to him and his family when I heard the horrible news) he is back on X-factor as writer with a mostly new team. Avoiding spoilers for those who potentially have not read the series finale to X-factor volume 2, lets just say that Jamie Madrox, Layla Miller and Rahne Sinclair are all basically out of the picture at this point – in a good way. Lorne (Polaris) and Pietro (Quicksilver) will be coming back in the all new X-Factor volume 3 series, joined by who I can at least confirm is Remy (Gambit). The other two characters I’m not entirely positive of, but it looks like Cypher (the gayest X-men, screw you Pam, I love Cypher). I’m not really sure who the hooded figure is, but I’m sure we’ll find out soon. Volume 2 of X-factor had started to become a little stagnant near the end of it’s run despite the fantastic ending and I think some new characters in the mixture are exactly what David needs to really get the ball rolling again. While I will miss Jamie, I’m really excited for this new team. I must say though; gosh what were they thinking with these costumes? They’re not the worst, but the old X-factor costumes were all fairly nice and I’m just not digging this change and this color scheme.

There will be much more NYCC hype coming from me later, but these are my initial impressions.

Also, people at NYCC were apparently very hyped for the next season of Game of Thrones. The second half of a Storm of Swords is by far my favorite part of A Song of Ice and Fire, so I believe this sums up my feelings towards season 4 pretty succinctly. Don’t mess this up for me HBO.

Click for animated glory

Hey, maybe I will do a video for this one. Look forward later this week to see how busy/lazy I am.

Also, here’s a drink for the week so you too can get drunk on comics:

Manhattan Comiconikaze Bomb

Sidecar

1 Part Whiskey (Your choice, just kidding, pick Seagrams 7)

1/2 Sweet Vermouth

2 parts Spire/Seltzer/7-up

1-2 Dash Aromatic Bitters

1 Maraschino Cherry

Bomb (In a Tall Shot Glass)

1 shot vodka

1-2 Dash of lemon juice

1-2 Dash Tripple Sec/Cointreau

Leave a comment